Senua in a pool of water in Hellblade 2

Hellblade 2: Does the New Zealand Trick Work?

Fans eager to uncover the mysteries behind Hellblade 2’s story will want to know whether they can use the New Zealand trick to get early access to it.

The New Zealand trick allows fans to play games early by switching their platform’s region to New Zealand. This is because, if a game has a midnight local release time, it’ll launch in New Zealand several hours before anywhere else. However, this trick doesn’t always work, so it helps to double-check. Unfortunately, for those hoping they’d be able to use it for Hellblade 2, you’re out of luck.

Does the New Zealand Trick Work for Hellblade 2?

No, unfortunately, the New Zealand trick will not work for Hellblade 2. This is because it is releasing at the same time globally, as opposed to having a localized midnight launch. Senua’s Saga: Hellblade 2 launches at 1 am PT/4 am ET/9 am BST/6 pm AEST, which is 8 pm in New Zealand. So this means that you won’t be able to access the game early by switching your region to New Zealand.

It’s no surprise that the trick doesn’t work, as Ninja Theory, the developer behind Hellblade 2, has done its best to keep the story as secret as possible. The review embargo, which typically lifts days before a game’s release date, is dropping surprisingly close to the release time. If the game were to be released first in New Zealand, considering its short length, players would likely spoil it for those who were still waiting for it to be unlocked in their region.

Map of Hellblade 2 release times
Senua’s Saga: Hellblade 2 release time map
Image Credit – Ninja Theory

So, if you were hoping to get early access to Hellblade 2, you’re out of luck. There is absolutely no way to gain early access to it. You’ll have to wait until it drops on Tuesday, May 21, 2024, to see how Senua’s next saga unfolds. That’s everything you need to know about using the New Zealand trick to play Hellblade 2 early. For more guides just like this one, be sure to check out our Guide Hub.

Editor in Chief

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *