Kiryu Coco - Feature Image

Hololive Vtuber Kiryu Coco Is Graduating This July

Cover Corp, the owner of Vtuber agency Hololive, have announced that the popular Vtuber Kiryu Coco will graduate next month.

Kiryu Coco is a popular Vtuber for the Vtuber talent agency Hololive. For those not in the know, a Vtuber is a virtual Youtuber. More specifically, they are someone “who uses a virtually generated avatar while streaming to their audience.” You can check out our piece on some of the most popular Vtubers here.

Kiryu Coco debuted back in December of 2019 and was incredibly popular thanks to her ability to speak both Japanese and English. She was best known for her Reddit Meme Reviews, which she often did in collaboration with other Vtubers. Cover Corp, the parent company of Hololive, announced that in July Kiryu would be graduating. Essentially, this is a euphemism used by the Vtuber community to designate the voluntary or involuntary retirement of a Vtuber. Cover Corp stated the following:

We wish to extend our deepest apologies to all the fans and collaborators for this sudden announcement, as well as our heartfelt gratitude and thanks to everyone who supported her activities for the past two years. We as a company are saddened by her decision to leave, but after much deliberation between both parties, we have decided to honor her wishes.

Cover Corp Press Release ~ 2021

Kiryu Coco’s Graduation

Understandably fans were deeply upset with the news that Kiryu Coco will be graduating next month. She was a highly regarded member of the Vtuber community and was certainly a huge part of bringing English audiences into the Hololive community. According to the 12-minute emotion-filled announcement video she released to YouTube, Kiryu claimed that she could not speak about why she was leaving.

Regarding the reason for my graduation, the reason involves a lot of things. A lot of things I can’t talk about. So you won’t hear anything from me. I know that’s hard to accept.

Kiryu Coco ~ “Super important announcement from Coco” 2021

In the same video, she continued to discuss how she has “lots of unfulfilled dreams that will probably stay that way”. Fortunately, Kiryu insists that she is “staying positive”. She also requested that fans refrained from asking other Vtuber’s their thoughts on her graduation. Kiryu Coco is hosting a special stream for her graduation. It will air on July 1st  8pm JST/12pm BST/7am EST/9pm AEST.