Horizon Forbidden West To Be Featured In Next State Of Play

Sony Interactive Entertainment has announced that Horizon Forbidden West will receive a 20-minute State of Play later this week.

Horizon Forbidden West was shown off for the very first time eleven months ago. Ever since the initial reveal, fans have been clamouring for new information. Now, Sony Interactive Entertainment has announced that the upcoming sequel to the critically acclaimed Horizon Zero Dawn will get its own 20-minute State of Play. This isn’t dissimilar to when Ghost of Tsushima got its own gameplay showcase just over a year ago. Horizon Forbidden West is slated to be released sometime this year, likely in Q4. It is therefore unsurprising that Sony is doing a deep dive into its gameplay.

What Is Being Showcased?

According to PlayStation’s blog post, the Horizon Forbidden West State of Play will showcase approximately 14 minutes of “in-game action featuring our heroic protagonist Aloy”. Unsurprisingly, all of the gameplay featured will be captured on the PlayStation 5. While there haven’t been any details of what specific gameplay will be featured, it would be nice to see some open-world exploration. With rumours that its open-world might be bigger than its predecessor, it would be good to see whether it maintains the same level of depth as Horizon Zero Dawn’s world.

Horizon Forbidden West - Gameplay
Image Credit – Sony Interactive Entertainment

When Is It Airing?

The Horizon Forbidden West State of Play will air on Thursday the 27th of May at 2pm Pacific Time / 10pm BST / 11pm CEST. A countdown for the event will start much earlier. You can tune in early at 9am Pacific Time / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST, so you can get hyped. You will be able to access the event on PlayStation’s Twitch and YouTube channels. Will you be tuning in? What do you want to see covered? Let us know down in the comments below.