Mort from Death Must Die

Death Must Die: How to Switch Characters

Death Must Die features an array of characters to play as, and many want to know how to switch between them.

In Death Must Die, you get to play as several different characters, each with their own strengths and weaknesses. Of course, while they’re all unique in their own way, some may not be for you. You’ll also unlock new ones as you play, with even more being added across the game’s Early Access period. So, switching between them becomes a necessity. But, players may not know how to switch between characters, and fortunately, that’s where we come in. Below, you’ll find out exactly how to switch characters in Death Must Die.

How to Switch Characters in Death Must Die

You switch characters in Death Must Die by interacting with your campfire in the bottom left. You can only switch characters after you’ve unlocked the second character in the game. Switching characters is instant, and you can do it as many times as you would like. However, you can only switch in the hub area, and not during combat or runs.

You will gradually unlock more characters by doing runs, which you’ll want to switch to as soon as you get them. 5 of the 7 currently available characters require you to play the game with newly unlocked characters in order to get them. For example, playing with Merris, the second character you unlock, will eventually unlock Nixi.

The Character selection screen in Death Must Die

How Many Characters Are There in Death Must Die

Death Must Die currently has seven characters for players to unlock. One is automatically made available at the start, which is Avoron the Knight. The characters you can play as are:

  • Avoron
  • Merris
  • Nixi
  • Kront
  • Skadi
  • Reaper
  • Valkyrie

Merris, Nixi, Kront, and Skadi are unlocked by playing as each of the characters. Reaper and Valkyrie require you to beat the game to unlock them. Each character plays completely differently from one another, allowing for different experimentation on your runs.

Death Must Die gameplay

Avoron is a warrior with heavy armor and a sword; Merris and Nixi are lighter characters with the former specializing in magic and the latter being very mobile. Kront is essentially the tank, capable of taking lots of damage; Skadi is an all-rounder, having stats similar to the former characters. The Reaper works best in close-quarters combat situations, while Valkyrie can take massive amounts of damage and dish it out in return.

That is everything you need to know about switching characters in Death Must Die. Anyone curious to learn more can head to our Game Guide Hub here.